links about us archives search home
SustainabiliTankSustainabilitank menu graphic

Follow us on Twitter


Posted on on June 11th, 2008
by Pincas Jawetz (

From:      yunus.arikan at
Subject: Commission on Environment of Turkish Parliament Approved Turkey’s Accession to the Kyoto Protocol
Date: June 11, 2008
At the gathering on 11 June 2008, the Commission on Environment of the Turkish Grand National Assembly approved a draft law that enables Turkey’s accession to the Kyoto Protocol.

The decision was adopted by a unanimity vote of members of ruling and opposition parties of the parliament.

Pursuant to the by-law of the Parliament, the Commission of Environment, together with the Commission on EU Accession will act as sub-committees and Commission on Foreign Affairs will be the lead Committee.

Thus, the decision of the Commission on the Environment shall be considered as a significant step forward for the adoption of the decision at the Commission on Foreign Affairs, and consecutively by the General Assembly of the Turkish Grand National Assembly.

Once the parliament adopts the law on Turkey’s accession to the Kyoto Protocol, the law will be presented to the President and upon his approval, the law will be published at the Official Gazzette.

The Kyoto Protocol will enter into force for Turkey, after 90 days of Turkey’s submission of “Instrument of Accession” to the United Nations in New York.

Considering the fact that the relevant decision of the government was forwarded to the Parliament on 3 June 2008, if the above summarized procedure is implemented with its current pace, it can be expected that Turkey can participate as an official Party to the Kyoto Protocol, at the 14th Conference of Parties and 4the Meeting of Parties that will be held in Poznan in December 2008.

Pursuant to Dec.26/CP7, Turkey is an Annex-I Country that is different than that of other Annex-I Parties to the UNFCCC.

Turkey and Belarus are the two Annex-I countries that are not listed in Annex-B of the Kyoto Protocol, due to the fact that they were not a Party to the UNFCCC at the time of adoption of Kyoto Protocl in 1997.

Once Decision 10/CMP2 enters into force, Turkey will be the only Annex-I country that will not have a quantified emission limitation or reduction obligation in the first commitment period of Kyoto Protocol.

Turkey, S.Korea and Mexico will also be recognized as the three countries of the OECD that do not have a a quantified emission limitation or reduction obligation until 2012, due to the fact that they are not listed in Annex-B of the Kyoto Protocol

İklim Değişikliği Proje Yöneticisi / Climate Change Senior Project Manager
Bölgesel Çevre Merkezi Türkiye Ofisi (REC Türkiye) / Regional Environmental Center Country Office Turkey   (REC Turkey)
Address: Ilkbahar Mah. 15. Cad. 296.Sok No:8 Yildiz 06550 Ankara TURKEY
Tel: +90 312 491 95 53
Fax: +90 312 491 95 40
e-mail:  yunus.arikan at

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a comment for this article