links about us archives search home
SustainabiliTankSustainabilitank menu graphic

Follow us on Twitter


Posted on on March 20th, 2007
by Pincas Jawetz (

BOCHUM, Germany, 17 March 2007—Achim Steiner, UN Under-Secretary-General
and UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Executive Director, has been honoured
as one of the recipients of the 2007 Steiger Award.

Mr. Steiner was awarded in the category of the environment for his
“commitment and important work for the protection of our planet”.

He was joined by other winners in categories ranging from sports and music
to journalism and politics, including H.E. President Hamid Karzai of
Afghanistan, Franz Beckenbauer, Wolfgang Niedecken, boy band US5, Peter
Scholl-Latour and Hans Dietrich Genscher.

Der Steiger, which translates into English as “the miner”, reflects the
coal mining roots of the North Rhine Westphalian region of Germany where
the prize is held. The award reflects the philosophy of
straight-forwardness, honesty, fairness and helpfulness.

Mr. Steiner said: “I am delighted to have been among the winners of the Der
Steiger award for 2007. It brings together so many individuals from the
worlds of politics, culture, sports and the entertainment. It is also
recognition of our work in the United Nations on global environmental

“While this is an international prize, it is also strongly rooted in the
region of North Rhine Westphalia which has been setting an excellent
example of how to evolve an economy from the industrialization patterns of
the 19th and 20th centuries into a 21st century one”, he said.

Mr Steiner was presented with the award on 17 March in Bochum. This is the
third year that the Der Steiger awards have been made. In the past two
years   “The Steiger”   has been awarded to numerous national and
international personalities like Prime Minister Shimon Peres, Dr. Mohamed
El-Baradei, Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, Boris   Becker, Maestro Josè
Carreras, Sabine Christiansen, Peter Maffay, H.I.M. Empress Farah
Diba-Pahlavi of Iran, artist Otmar Alt, musician Robin Gibb from the Bee
Gees, actors Pierre Brice and Friedrich von Thun, Claude Nobs, James Rizzi
and the well-known German journalist Friedrich Nowottny.

The 2007 Der Steiger laureates are

* H.E. President Hamid Karzai of Afghanistan * The journalist Prof. Peter
Scholl-Latour * Former Minister Hans Dietrich Genscher * Actress Iris
Berben * Actor Manfred Krug * Joachim Fuchsberger * US5 * Rupert and
Christel Charity * Dr. Gabriele Pauli * Franz Beckenbauer * Musician
Wolfgang Niedecken * Achim Steiner

Der Steiger web site

For more information, please contact:   Nick Nuttall, UNEP Spokesperson, on
Tel: +254-20-762-4001, Mobile: +254-733-632755 or E-mail:
 nick.nuttall at style=”text-align: center”>

Leave a comment for this article